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PRESS RELEASE 

 

Milpitas Police Joins Effort to Crack Down on Cell Phone Use and Texting 

Texting and Driving Will Cost You: First Ticket Minimum $159 
 

 
(Milpitas, CA) – How often do you see drivers texting or talking with hand-held cell 

phones and wish they would be stopped and cited?  As part of California’s first Distracted 
Driving Awareness Month in April, the Milpitas Police Department will be holding zero tolerance 
days for cell phone use and texting.  A ticket for violating either the hands free or no texting law 
costs a minimum of $159, and subsequent tickets cost $279. 
 

Distracted driving is a serious traffic safety concern that puts everyone on the road at risk, 
joining speeding and alcohol as leading factors in fatal and serious injury crashes.  As a result, 
law enforcement across the state, including the Milpitas Police Department, is increasingly 
cracking down on cell phone use and texting.  Starting April 4th and throughout the month, the 
Milpitas Police Department will join over 225 local agencies plus 103 CHP Area Commands 
conducting zero tolerance enforcements. 
 

“I consider this to be as dangerous as drunk driving,” said Milpitas Police Department 
Chief Dennis Graham.  “Cell phone use and texting while driving are such serious concerns that 
we are having officers on the road demonstrate zero tolerance when it comes to distracted driving.  
Is that text message or cell phone call really worth $159?” 
 

Drivers who use hand-held devices are four times as likely to get into crashes serious 
enough to injure themselves.  Younger, inexperienced drivers under 20 years old have the highest 
proportion of distraction-related fatal crashes.  In addition, studies show that texting while driving 
can delay a driver’s reaction time just as severely as having a blood alcohol content of a legally 
drunk driver. 
 

“We recognize that convincing drivers to refrain from using cell phones or texting while 
driving isn’t easy,” said Office of Traffic Safety Director Christopher J. Murphy.  “It’s very 
difficult to resist the urge to check an incoming text or answer a cell phone call.  That’s why we 
are stepping up enforcement and public awareness efforts.  Convincing California drivers to wear 
seat belts 20 years ago wasn’t easy either, but in 2010 more than 96 percent buckled up and 
thousands of lives were saved.” 
 

Studies show that there is no difference in the risks between hands-free and hand-held 
cell phone conversations, both of which can result in “inattention blindness” which occurs when 
the brain isn’t seeing what is clearly visible because the drivers’ focus is on the phone 
conversation and not on the road. 
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There are simple measures drivers can take to minimize distractions in the vehicle: 

 

• Turn your phone off or put it out of reach before starting the car. 

• Alert callers that you are unable to take calls when driving by changing your voicemail 
message. 

• Make it a point not to call or text anyone who may be driving, such as during the 
commute to and from work or school, especially parents calling teen drivers. 

• If you do need to make an important call or respond to a text message, pull over to a safe 
place to do so. 

• If going cold turkey is too much of a stretch and you just can’t turn your phone off, 
consider using one of the available mobile phone apps that holds calls and incoming 
texts. 
 

“We just want drivers to use some common sense when they’re behind the wheel and focus 
on driving,” said Murphy.  “Think about the vast majority of calls and texts you send or receive 
everyday.  Were any really worth a $159 ticket – or worse, a crash, injury or death?  It’s just not 
worth it.” 
 
 
By: Sergeant Kevin Moscuzza   Date: March 24, 2011 


