Welcome to the Planning Department

The Planning Department promotes and facilitates a high quality of life through community partnerships, innovation, vision, and exemplary customer service to ensure a vibrant Milpitas.

The Planning Department is responsible for two primary functions related to land use planning and development in Milpitas. Planning performs and coordinates the review of applications for existing and new uses, development projects (current planning) and assists the Planning Commission and City Council in planning for the City’s long term future (long-range planning). Planning is also responsible for maintaining the General Plan, the City’s two specific plans and the zoning ordinance, providing information on zoning, land use and development regulation to the public and staffing the Planning Commission.

The services and duties of the Planning Division are guided by several government codes, regulations, statutes, and other procedural documents, including but not limited to; Open Government Code, General Plan, Title XI – Zoning, Planning, and Annexation.

Please consider the following suggestions to get information and manage your project as efficiently as possible:

  1. Email your question to planningdepartment@ci.milpitas.ca.gov our team is on rotation to answer these emails daily and we will either respond with an answer or direct your inquiry to the right person.
  2. Online Permits: Currently the Planning Department doesn’t accept online permits. However, please email your queries to planningdepartment@ci.milpitas.ca.gov and the planner on duty will contact you. Please provide your contact information and detailed information about the project, example: Project address, a detailed project description etc
  3. Search the website for resources such as forms, the Municipal Code, and major project updates.
  4. Sign up for e-notifications to get updates on topics, events, and projects that interest you.
  5. Make an appointment by emailing your project planner or planning@ci.milpitas.ca.gov or by calling 408-586-3279
  6. Communicate with your project planner. All applications are assigned to a single planner who will guide you through the entire process, from the preliminary concept phase to building occupancy. Direct all communications to your assigned planner for an efficient response.
STAFF POSITION EMAIL PHONE NUMBER
Ned Thomas, AICP Planning Director nthomas@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3273
Jessica Garner, AICP Planning Manager jgarner@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3284
Michael Fossati Senior Planner mfossati@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3274
Jay Lee Principal Planner jlee2@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3077
Rozalynne Thompson Senior Planner rthompson@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3278
Lillian VanHua Associate Planner lhua@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3073
Adrienne Smith Associate Planner asmith@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3287
Krishna Kumar Assistant Planner kkumar@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3276
Avery Stark Assistant Planner astark@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3288
Liz Medina Administrative Assistant emedina@ci.milpitas.ca.gov 408-586-3271

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Regarding Planning Services effective March 31, 2020

The Permit Center will be closed for all in-person services through the last day of the County Order on Sunday, May 3, 2020. The City will be continually monitoring the situation and will update the public on potential changes to this date. Customers will be provided information on Permit Center services that are currently available online or via e-mail or telephone, including inquiry, permit applications, plan submittals, permit issuance, and other services. City staff will strive to respond to all phone calls and emails as soon as possible. Your patience is much appreciated during this interim Permit Center closure period.

Click here to see the City of Milpitas Permit Center and Inspection Services Information updated March 31, 2020.

Online Public Forum

The public is invited to submit comments or questions on any of the following projects:

Project Name                         Hearing Date

Chick-Fil-A Restaurant           06/24/2020

Click HERE to sign up for
Information and Updates by text message from the City of Milpitas Planning Dept.

You can also subscribe by texting the word
“PLANNING” to (855) 402-1400